Grains…GRAINS…!

While improvements have doubtlessly been made since I picked up DE shaving, I’m still working out what exactly I’m doing with all this.  So far there’s only one part of it all that I feel confident I’ve got locked down, and that’s changing razor blades.

As I’ve mentioned before, a lot of shave blogs advise that you shave at least once with the grain before going against.  I’ve been experimenting with this, and I’ll admit that it does give a rather nice shave. 

For day to day shaving though, I’m finding myself returning to my previous method: full lather, one slow and attentive pass against the grains, then a very quick with the grains  pass (no lather, water or something on the face if anything) just to make sure I didn’t miss anything and to try and keep it all even.

While I’ve never seen any websites advise such a technique, and while time may teach me why, it works for me.  And that, I think, is the wonderful thing about DE shaving: you are much more personally involved in what you’re doing.  Every face is different, and while there are fundamentals to learn at the end of the day it’s all about what works for you.  As you’re more closely involved in what you’re doing, you naturally pick up on what works best. 

In my case ingrown hairs and razor burn aren’t a problem, so I can shave this way and it works great for me.  I’ll still be using the beard reduction method when I’ve not shaved for a day or two, or when there’s something important and I really want a close and smooth shave, but for day to day I’ll probably go with my traditional method.

I have no idea if any or how many badgers were hurt in the making of this brush.

I have no idea if any or how many badgers were hurt in the making of this brush.

On a related note: I’m still working out how to get a good lather.  The two methods I’ve been using are lather on your hand and lather directly on your face (I’ll do a post about that some other time in more detail), and both have been coming up a bit short lately.  I think I’m not loading my brush as much as I have been, so that’s something I’ll need to work on.

Leave a Reply

