True Grit – How DE Shaving Gets You a Better Scruff

Unexpected consequences sometimes result in important discoveries, like penicillin, chocolate chip cookies, or Miracle Whip.

My goal in switching to safety razors was to find a cheaper, better way to shave.  In that regard: mission accomplished.  There has emerged an interesting but wholly unexpected  consequence though: a better gruff.

Now, I’m a man who is not unfamiliar with the ways of the facial hair.  True fact: for about a year prior to my starting this Amanda used to be able to tell what day of the week it was by the amount of growth I was sporting.  That’s because unless I had work I would shave on Sundays for church and then just let it go during the week.  While I’m not the hairiest guy around, I’ve got a respectable amount and it comes in fairly quick.

Most guys have heard the stories that shaving makes your hair grow in thicker and darker.  I don’t buy that, not because of any actual biological proof but because it just doesn’t make any kind of sense to me.  But, DE shaving has given me an appreciation at least for why some people might think that because shaving properly does do one important thing: it makes your hair feel like it’s growing in better.

A rough scruff does not need to make you look like a lazy college student, someone who was out drinking all night, or Shaggy from Scooby-Doo.

A rough scruff does not need to make you look like a lazy college student, someone who was out drinking all night, or Shaggy from Scooby-Doo.

I don’t know why it is, but here’s my theory: the closer, better shave results in hair that’s more evenly and more cleanly cut than from cartridges.  Rather than sharply cut, uneven hair that grows in like gravel landscaping, a good DE shave results in scruff that grows in like a good medium grit sand paper.  Rough, but with an even smoothness quality.  That’s a man’s shadow.

Anyone who’s ever tried to grow grass knows that a good lawn starts with good preparation (or sod), and that good maintenance means that it’ll keep growing healthy.  The better you cut the grass, the better it’ll look for days afterward as it starts growing back.  Do yourself a favor, give your face the same attention.  I’m not saying it’s as good as penicillin, but you’ll hopefully be using it on a more regular basis.

Leave a Reply

