Razor Blade Review: Treet Platinum

I think that it is pronounced like "treat."

I think that it is pronounced like “treat.”

When my razor blade pack arrived in the mail I’d heard of most of the varieties already.  That’s a large part of why it beat out other samplers, it provided some degree of familiarity (if just in name, as I’d only used the Derby blades).  While I hadn’t heard of ever variety, such as the Sharpedge, I at least knew of their manufacturer, Gillette.  There was only one brand, in fact, that I hadn’t heard of:  Treet.  That hasn’t stopped them from making quite a name for themselves in the last two weeks of my use.

For many years Treet was known for making carbon steel blades.  While these were popular with many for their ability to hold and edge both sharper and longer than stainless steel, they were more prone to rust and thus required more attention.

The industry now primarily manufactures stainless for ease of use, and Treet has followed suit.  Made in Pakistan, the Treet Platinum is perhaps not as visible as some other razor blade brands.  But if you’re looking for a great blade that consistently holds an edge, then this one is right up your ally.

Performance wise, I’ve found the Tweet Platinum to be comparable to the Shark line of blades.  For as close as the Shark Stainless and the Shark Chrome were, the Treet feels like it falls somewhere in the middle: not quite as sharp as the Stainless, but more forgiving; not quite as forgiving as the Chrome, but sharper.

I’ve found it to give excellent shaves that are so close that it actually makes daily shaving a bit uncertain, giving the hair little time to grow out.  To accommodate this, I’ve found it helpful to alternate morning between two passes (one with the grain and one against) and just one (against the grain).  It seems to allow growth to recover enough to provide better shaves than just trying to go as close as possible each time.

Where it is most different is that the Treet seems to hold it’s edge much better than most, perhaps better than any other blade I’ve yet used.  While there was certainly some degree of wear, the blade remained sharp and consistent through a full week of shaving.  That sharpness and even wear allowed for consistent shaves throughout the week, without the feeling that the blade had substantially changed from when I started.  While they are no longer carbon steel (at least, not these ones), the Treet reputation remains intact.

I did notice that the blades seem to be a touch harder to clean.  Normally a quick rinse under hot water will get most blades clean, the Treet seemed to hold on to hair and lather a bit more tightly.  It only took an extra moment under the water to break it loose, but it was noticeable given how easily other blades rinse. This may not be the blade’s fault though, as I switched to a new shaving cream at the same time I started using the blades, so that may be an issue of the cream just not dissolving in water as easily as my previous shaving soap.  Something to keep an eye on as I use other blades.

Verdict:  I’ve found the Treet blades to be extremely satisfying, and one of the best day to day blades I’ve used.  Others have gotten shaves that feel closer, felt better, etc, but few if any have delivered such great results so consistently.  The shave smoothly, they shave well, and they stay sharp, it’s hard to ask for more.

Leave a Reply

