Review II: Gillette 7 O’clock Sharpedge

image

Look at all those sharp edges!

Because Gillette 7 O’clock Sharpedge were stand out blades when I first tested them several months ago, I found myself greatly anticipating using them again.

Much to my surprise I ran into trouble almost immediately.

The blades themselves were what I remembered. Extremely sharp, as the name implies, they cut through stubble quickly and easily.  But the results were problematic, after a day of shaving I found myself with sensitive skin that didn’t want a close shave.

To solve this problem I adjusted my method. Rather than making one pass with the grain and one against, I switched to one pass with the grain and one across it. This gave me a slightly rougher shave, but the irritation cleared up immediately. After a few days I switched back to with and against the grain, and the irritation didn’t return. I suspect the problem was that I got used to using more pressure and aggressive methods with duller blades, which the Sharpedge won’t let me get away with.

With the issue resolved I found myself having wonderful shaves throughout the week. Even pushing the blades past their normal week use to ten days gave me decent, though noticeably declining, shaves.

While I have enjoyed many of the blades I’ve used, these are among the few I am seriously considering buying in bulk. While they aren’t very forgiving, they shave excellent for me, and they are simply fun to use.  It’s hard to define that last category, but some blades just feel boring to me.

These aren’t one of them. I am now out of blades, and I’ll be keeping my eyes open to pick up more.

2 comments

  1. Did you solve the mystery of the name? I just assumed it implied that the blades are so great your five o’clock shadow wouldn’t show up until… “7 o’clock.”

Leave a Reply

