Razor Upkeep: Dealing With Buildup

The other week I had a dream where I was an action hero, but my gun wouldn’t work because the slide hadn’t been oiled and the recoil spring was too weak.  To some that might seem weird, to me it made sense: while I’m not a neat freak, I’m the kind of guy who likes to keep my things in good working order.  

So it became a personal irritation last April when I discovered that the screw which holds the razor head to the handle was getting some buildup on the threads.  I don’t know if it was calcium or other minerals from the water, soap residue that was accumulating, or both, but there was a hard, white, rocky junk showing up. 

It's hard to see it, darn phone cameras, but if you look near the top you can see a white haze on the metal.  It's worse in the thread.

It’s hard to see it, darn phone cameras, but if you look near the top you can see a white haze on the metal. It’s worse in the thread.

I tried scrubbing, Q-tips, and toothpicks, trying to get it off without damaging the the metal.  Nothing was working.  By July I was beginning to have trouble threading the head, so I decided it was time to take action. 

I found a possible solution in the book “Leisure Guy’s Guide to Gourmet Shaving,” which is an excellent source of wet shaving information, written by Michael Ham.  In a section on cleaning second hand razors he suggested soaking razor parts in a room temperature, a 1:4 part vinegar/water solution for one to two hours to loosen deposits. 

I figured it was worth a shot.  I tossed the razor head in a bowl, added the 1:4 part solution, and wandered off.  I checked in on it thirty minutes later, and was delighted to find a sparkling (and gunk free) razor head.

Again, darn cell phone pictures, but I assure you the stuff is now gone and it looks good as new.

Again, darn cell phone pictures, but I assure you the stuff is now gone and it looks good as new.

The mixture worked like gang busters.  If I have anymore buildup on the screw threads, I now know how to fix it.

Leave a Reply

