A Taste of Things to Come

After a brief lull in experimentation things are back to their uncharted ways around here.

First, a new sampler pack arrived from Bullgoose Shaving bringing with it a slew of new blades to try:

Not one of their pre-made packs, I really just picked a bunch that seemed interesting.

Not one of their pre-made packs, I really just picked a bunch that seemed interesting.

Pol Silver, Gillette Super Thin, Gillette Silver Blue, Perma-Sharp Super, Treet Dura Sharp (my first experience with a carbon steel blade), and Wilkinson Sword. I’ve already started using them and reviews will begin showing up in the near future.

Second, this week I received a package from Dollar Shave Club (well, their PR people):

This picture shows up roughly 800 times a week in my blog feed since I get anything tagged "shaving."

A picture like this shows up roughly 800 times a week in my blog feed since I get anything tagged “shaving.”

Inside I found wet wipes (which I won’t be reviewing), their shave butter (which I guess you use instead of shaving cream), a pack of four blade razors, and some aftershave/skin moisturizer.  Cartridge razors aren’t particularly interesting to me these days, but if they’re going to be nice enough to just give it to me then I’ll take the time to give it a try.  That will likely happen once I wrap up with the current razor brand I’m testing, and I’ll try it both as a full system as well as try out the shave butter and moisturizer with DE razors. 

Looks like October will be an interesting month of shaving!

Leave a Reply

