Movember- Why I’m Still Shaving

Movember is upon us again, a time when men stop shaving their mustache in an effort to raise awareness about men’s health issues such as colon cancer (or simply because they’re riding the cultural wave).  It’s a worthy cause, but not one I’ll be participating in for a couple reasons.

First, I look awful in a mustache.  I shaved a beard down to one once, my wife took one look and literally covered her eyes and hid. Actions spoke louder than words. Jack Kemp once said, “Winning is like shaving- you do it every day or you wind up looking like a bum.”  I’m not sure what I looked like, but I had to shave it off before she would stop winching every time she looked at me.

But the larger reason that I’m not shaving is this: Shaving for me is a manly tradition.  A combination of tools, skill, patience, focus, and practice.  I use a double-edge razor for many reasons, one of which is that it takes work.  Work is good for the mind, body and soul, and it’s something I don’t want to go without.

By all means, grow your beard.  I’ve done so, and I likely will again.  But it makes no sense for me to deny myself of a manly ritual in an effort to demonstrate manliness, and in the case of a mustache, which has the very possible side effect of making me look like some hipster. 

That’s not how I roll.

Leave a Reply

