Review: Perma-Sharp Super

That's not punctuation I recognize...

That’s not punctuation I recognize…

After shaving with the Perma-Sharps for two weeks I’m still not sure how I feel about them, though it’s entirely possible that by the time I finish writing this review I’ll have talked myself into one opinion or another. 

It’s an odd blade.  The store I bought them from says they are made by Procter & Gamble, but they don’t bear the Gillette trade name which P&G owns.  They are manufactured in Russia with an English name, which isn’t unusual unto itself, except that the package then has what Google translate tells me is Turkish printed right on the front.  And when it comes to shaving, it’s one of the few blades that have really grown on me.

Most of the time if I’m going to like a blade I can tell pretty quickly.  With the Perma-Sharp it was very different.  My first shave with it left much to be desired, the next day continued to be unimpressive.  But by the third day I found much of what I disliked disappearing.  By the fourth day those things weren’t even noticeable.  By the fifth I had figured I just had a bad start. 

Then I changed blades, and it was back to square one.  Once again though by the third day or so it was shaving great and I was happy with it. 

I’ve had blades that required a bit of time to break in before, I even wrote a blog post about it.  But I’ve never had one with such a steep and noticeable curve.  The first couple shaves the blade felt rough, uneven, pulling and tugging when it should be cleanly cutting.  But after a shave or two this had vanished, replaced by a reliable, sharp, consistent blade.  In fact, by the end of the week I hadn’t noticed a decline in sharpness or shave quality.  It was living up to it’s name.

Hence my uncertainty about it.  On one hand, for the first shave or two I simply didn’t enjoy it.  By about Tuesday it was doing well, and it was a pleasure the rest of the week.

Next time I use them I’m going to try out a trick I’ve heard about, that if you run an overly aggressive razor through a cork that it will even out the edge and give a more comfortable shave.  Perhaps that will do the trick.  For now, when I get critical about it I remember how smooth and sharp it felt during a time of the week that many razors struggle, but I can’t ignore the rough few days at the beginning. 

Leave a Reply

